This Website Uses Cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer. Cookies will never contain any personally identifiable information. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site may not work without them. We use cookies in order to deliver the best possible service to you and to provide a secure and effective site service for users. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies and also how you can change your cookie settings, click here.

Hide this message

Recommended Profiles - Base, Standard and Expert

Print page

We recommend three ICDL Profiles - Base, Standard and Expert - each represents a different level of digital proficiency, and proof of the skill level that you have.

ICDL Base Profile

ICDL Base Profile

ICDL Base Profile certifies essential skills. Because the skills covered in this 4-module certification are essential to anyone who uses computers and other devices on a daily basis, it is recommended that everyone should certify their skills to this level.


ICDL Standard Profile

ICDL Standard Profile is the most flexible of the recommended ICDL profiles. It consists of the 4 Base modules, plus any other 3 Intermediate modules from a wide range. This structure ensures that you can certify your essential ICT skills, and then demonstrate your competence in other modules that are suited to your career or your interests. 

ICDL Expert Profile

ICDL Expert Profile

ICDL Expert Profile enables you to become (and prove that you are) a ‘power user’ in commonly used computer applications. It is aimed at workers who want to be recognised as experts in these applications by being able to perform advanced functions in them. You achieve your ICDL Expert Profile by successfully completing 3 of the 4 ICDL Advanced modules.